Principal Newsletter February 9th, 2018 

LaSalle Vision

LaSalle Language Academy will provide the foundation for all students to become creative intellectuals and people with integrity, who persevere with the confidence to become empathetic, active and engaged global citizens and role models.
February 16th, 2018

* Black History Month Assembly
* Wine Auction
* Subscribe to the Smart Social Newsletter
* Dates to Remember

** Black History Month Assembly!

Thursday, February 22, 2018 from 5:00 PM to 7:30 PM
at LaSalle Language Academy

Please join us to celebrate diversity at LaSalle with our first annual Black History Month Assembly! Through our living museum and student created performances, LaSalle students will introduce us to important and influential African Americans throughout history. We will also enjoy light soul food and time spent with friends in the community
Get Your Free Tickets Here! (
Wine Auction
As we prepare for our annual auction, we are beginning to collect wine for our wine basket. Any families who are able to donate a bottle (or three!) of wine, please drop it off in the main office at any time. We will turn each bottle over to the FOL right away. Red or white, sweet or's completely up to you. We only ask that each bottle have a minimum price point of $20.

Thank you so much in advance for your donation!

Subscribe to the Smart Social Newsletter
Parents, please consider signing up to receive Smart Social's newsletter. Smart Social is a site dedicated to practicing safe online behavior, and education teachers and parents about helping students make good online decisions. I get their newsletter which highlights blogs and tips that I've found very useful. Here are a few links to some great articles I've read on that site, as well as a link to the site itself. I'll try to link to a good Smart Social blog in my principal newsletter each week so look for this great resource!

Link to the Smart Social Site (
Monitor Your Children Online with Footprint Friday! (
Dates to Remember
**Please note that new or changed dates will be written in blue from this point forward!

2017-2018 Projected Date EVENT

Monday, January 15, 2018 NO SCHOOL (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 FOL General Meeting - 6:30 - 8:00 pm
Friday, February 2, 2018 NO CLASSES (School Improvement Day)
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 LSC Meeting - 5:45 - 7:00 pm
Wednesday, February 15, 2018 FOL General Meeting - 4:15 - 5:45 pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 Chinese New Year
Monday, February 19, 2018 NO SCHOOL (President's Day)
Saturday, March 10th, 2018 FOL Auction
Tuesday, March 13, 2018 LSC Meeting - 5:45 - 7:00 pm
Friday, March 16, 2018 FOL meeting - 9:00 - 10:00 am
March 26 to 29, 2018 Spring Break
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 LSC Meeting - 5:45 - 7:00 pm
Friday, April 13, 2018 NO CLASSES (School Improvement Day)
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 NO CLASSES (Parent/Teacher Conferences)
Thursday, April 26, 2018 FOL meeting - 6:30 - 8:00 pm
May 4 - 11, 2018 Spring Book Fair
5/7/2018 to 5/11/2018 National Teacher Appreciation Week
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 LSC Meeting - 5:45 - 7:00
Friday, May 18, 2018 FOL Meeting 9 - 10 am
MAY TBD Camp Edwards (6th Graders)
MAY TBD Washington DC Trip (8th Graders)
MAY TBD Springfield, IL Trip (7th Graders)
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 Spring Assembly
Monday, May 28, 2018 NO SCHOOL (Memorial Day)
Friday, June 8, 2018 FOL Meeting - 4:15 - 5:45 pm
June TBA Travel Fair/International Night
June TBA Indiana Dunes (8th Graders)
June TBA Art Fair Parking
June TBA 50 Yard Dash
June TBA Graduation Luncheon
June TBA Graduation & Reception
June TBA Field Day/Talent Show/Carnivale
Monday, June 18, 2018 LAST DAY OF SCHOOL
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 FOL Fiscal Year Ends
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 Next FOL Fiscal Year Starts
August TBD Air & Water Show Parking

Copyright © 2018 LaSalle Language Academy, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you are a member of the LaSalle Language Academy community.

Our mailing address is:
LaSalle Language Academy
1734 North Orleans
Chicago, IL 60614
Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can ** update your preferences (
or ** unsubscribe from this list (